Respect

Don Addis, Jan. 2008
Don Addis, Jan. 2008

The other day, somebody said the following to me:

You guys have to make fun of [religion], put it down, and be as mean as you can about Christians. You can be an atheist without putting down God. This is something that is very important to a lot of people. I love my God and will defend Him like I would my children. If you want your atheism respected, then quit treating Christianity like a joke and grow up.

Really? You want- wait, really?! Assuming my readers are (or will be, once I have some) primarily atheist, agnostic, and nonreligious, I think we can all agree on how ridiculous, hypocritical, and insulting that statement alone is.

You want respect? First, I can respect you without respecting for an instance your delusional belief in a sky-god. And being that the belief in a sky-god, to a rational thinker, is absolutely absurd, it should be perfectly understandable that we find it silly and want to joke about it. Plenty of so-called Christians I know like to scoff and laugh at how ridiculous Wiccans are for their beliefs in witchcraft.

As I explained to her in response, sometimes laughing at something really is the nicest option. When people like George H.W. Bush, the President of the goddamn United States of America say things like, “I don’t know that atheists should be considered as citizens, nor should they be considered patriots,” you can bet your ass I’m going to be goddamn insulted, and I’m going to fight back.

How dare you presume that you can use your religion as an excuse to start wars, neglect or abuse children (sexually, physically, and emotionally), force women into submission, and prevent gays from marrying one another, then get offended when we crack a joke about the fact that you’re in love with a “jealous, vengeful god.” Trust me, if all we’re doing is laughing at or joking about you, then you’re getting off easier than you deserve.

One thought on “Respect

  1. I must be one of the rare ones, I’m a very devout believer who follows you. I find your posts to be excellent examples of blogs, though I disagree with the subject greatly.

Leave a Reply

